Your behavior appears to be a little unusual. Please verify that you are not a bot.

SFMA announces 2022 Field of the Year winners

December 27, 2022

Sports Field Management Association (SFMA) announced its 2022 Field of the Year winners, an award spotlighting the individuals and programs who excelled this year in providing quality, safe playing surfaces.

Every year, SFMA presents the industry’s highest honor to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, school (K-12) and parks and recreation levels.

The 2022 winners include:


  • Baseball – Leah Withrow, Greater Nevada Field, Reno Aces, Reno, Nev.
  • Soccer – Dan Farnes, America First Field, Real Salt Lake, Sandy, Utah.

College and university

  • Baseball –Andrew Siegel, Lupton Stadium, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Football – Jeff Foor, Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Soccer –Brad Finn, Yokubaitis Field, University of Houston, Houston, Texas

Schools and parks

  • Baseball – Keith Fisher, Al Leiter Field at Al Kunzman Park, Central Regional School District, Bayville, N.J.
  • Football – Zachary Horsley, Jason Brown Complex, Liberty Christian Academy, Lynchburg, Va.
  • Soccer – Jonathan Waszak, Sportsplex Stadium Field, Mecklenburg County Parks and Rec, Matthews, N.C.
  • Softball – Drew Miller and turfgrass management students, Brentsville Softball Park, Brentsville School District, Nokesville, Va.
  • Sporting Grounds – Daniel Prince, Pace Academy Lacrosse Field, Pace Academy Riverview Sports Complex, Mableton, Ga.

“We are thrilled to recognize the men and women who maintain our sports fields nationwide and display excellence across the board, especially when it comes to safety and playability,” James Bergdoll, SFMA president, said. “The 2022 winners each played a major role in enhancing their communities, displaying their talents with college and professional teams, as well as local parks and recreation departments.”

The SFMA Awards Committee, led by co-chairs Brad Thedens, CSFM, and Jason DeMink, CSFM, reviewed each submission and independently rated applicants on field quality as impacted by staffing, budget, use, monthly maintenance and a visual story that documents challenges and successes.

Winners receive a complimentary registration to the 2023 SFMA Conference & Exhibition in Salt Lake City, Utah, accommodations, a trophy for display and more.

Comments are currently closed.