Your behavior appears to be a little unusual. Please verify that you are not a bot.

SFMA names 2023 Field of the Year winners

December 8, 2023
Brooks Field at Wallace Wade Stadium, Duke University (Photo: SFMA)

Brooks Field at Wallace Wade Stadium, Duke University (Photo: SFMA)

Recently, the Sports Field Management Association (SFMA) unveiled its 2023 Field of the Year winners, spotlighting the individuals and programs who excelled this year in providing quality, safe playing surfaces.

“We are excited to unveil the remarkable recipients of the 2023 Field of the Year awards and extend our sincere gratitude for their outstanding achievements in field management,” said Laura Simmons, SFMA CEO. “Whether tending to the needs of professional and collegiate teams or working within local parks and recreation departments, the dedicated men and women who diligently maintain sports fields nationwide are integral to community enrichment, ensuring safety and playability for all athletes.”

SFMA presents the award to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, school (K-12), and parks and recreation levels.

The 2023 winners are:

Donald Lambert Field, Nokesville, Va.

Donald Lambert Field, Nokesville, Va.


  • Baseball – Mitch Hooten; West Michigan Whitecaps, LMCU Ballpark in Comstock Park, Mich.
  • Soccer – Jonathan Waszak; Mecklenburg County Parks and Rec, Sportsplex Stadium Field in Matthews, N.C.

College and University

  • Baseball – Scott Blanchette; Maestri Field at the University of New Orleans
  • Football – Ian Christie, CSFM; Brooks Field at Wallace Wade Stadium at Duke University
  • Soccer – Bruce Suddeth, CSFM; County University Soccer Stadium at the University of South Carolina Upstate
  • SoftballDaniel Thomas, CSFM; Eichelberger Field at the University of Illinois

Schools and Parks

  • Baseball – Scott Heren; Tom Dedin Field at Providence Catholic High School, New Lenox, Ill.
  • Football – Drew Miller; Donald Lambert Field and the  Brentsville Turfgrass Management Program, Nokesville, Va.
  • Soccer – Daniel Prince; Walsh Field at Pace Academy, Mableton, Ga.
  • Softball – Matthew Arms, CSFM; Lady Vikings Softball Field at Spartanburg (S.C.) High School
  • Sporting Grounds – Matt Dudley; Brownsburg (Ind.) Championship Cross Country Course

SFMA Awards Committee co-chairs Jeremy Driscoll, CSFM, and Jason DeMink, CSFM, reviewed all submissions and independently rated applicants on field quality as impacted by staffing, budget, use, monthly maintenance and a visual story that documents challenges and successes.

Spartanburg (S.C.) High School (Photo: SFMA)

Spartanburg (S.C.) High School (Photo: SFMA)

Winners receive complimentary registration to the 2024 SFMA Conference & Exhibition (Jan. 22-25) in Daytona Beach, Fla., accommodations for three nights, signature clothing and a trophy presented during the annual awards banquet.

Comments are currently closed.