Your behavior appears to be a little unusual. Please verify that you are not a bot.

Nominations for SFMA Founders Awards now open

September 26, 2022

The Sports Field Management Association (SFMA) recently opened nominations for its Founders Awards. The deadline for nominations is Oct. 15. Winners will be announced during the SFMA Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The awards are based on the characteristics of the organization’s four founders:

Dick Ericson

Ericson served as SFMA’s first President from 1981-82. He has and continues to have an impact on raising the level of professionalism within the industry. The Ericson Award recognizes a member who effectively manages sports fields and their facility and exhibits the qualities of a true team leader.

William Daniel, Ph.D.

Daniel set the pattern for educator/researcher involvement in SFMA. The partnership between educators and researchers and the sports turf managers who incorporate these advances in on-the-field applications is key to the progress of the industry. The Daniel Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the industry through research, teaching or Extension.

George Toma

Toma continues to serve as a mentor for many in the sports turf industry. He always emphasizes the importance of the entire crew in effective sports turf management. His motto is “if you love what you do and give it your all – and then some” you can achieve your goals. The George Toma Golden Rake Award validates the “and then some” attitude of a sports turf member in “on the job” activities and in community service.

Harry Gill

Gill served as SFMA’s second president from 1982-83. His commitment to the sports turf profession and his desire and efforts to lay the groundwork for the fledgling SFMA to succeed are legendary among those who were fortunate to have known him.

Comments are currently closed.